News Detail - Main Events

« Back

38th HKIFF Honors Filmmakers with Awards of Five Competition Sections

5 April - At the Awards Gala at Rotunda 1, Kowloon Bay International Trade & Exhibition Centre (KITEC), fully supported by The Metroplex, the 38th Hong Kong International Film Festival (HKIFF) revealed the winning films for five award categories, namely the Young Cinema Competition, the Documentary Competition, the Short Film Competition, the FIPRESCI Prize and the SIGNIS Award.

Each competition was judged by an independent jury, consisting of renowned industry figures such as BONG Joon-Ho – Korean director, Karena LAM – local actress, David BORDWELL – film theorist and critic and Christopher LAMBERT – renowned French actor and producer.

Click here to see photos of the awards ceremony!

List of Winners

Young Cinema Competition
Firebird Award – Macondo
Jury Prize – The Tale of Iya
Special Mention – Forma

Documentary Competition
Firebird Award – My Name is Salt
Jury Prize – The Last Moose of Aoluguya
Special Mention – Meat and Milk

Short Film Competition
Firebird Award – The Butter Lamp
Jury Prize – Cold Snap
Special Mention – Symphony no. 42
Internet Audience Award – Kriminalistik

FIPRESCI Prize – 10 Minutes

SIGNIS Award – Burning Bush
Special Mention – Siddharth and Palestine Stereo

List of Jurors

Young Cinema Competition
BONG Joon-ho, David BORDWELL, Christopher LAMBERT, Karena LAM

Documentary Competition
SODA Kazuhiro, LEE Daw-Ming, Angie CHEN

Short Film Competition
Lav DIAZ, Quentin TURNOUR, Ellen PAU

Peter H. RIST, Richard BOLISAY, Matthew CHENG

Douglas P. FAHLESON, Yongjun JO, FOO Wai Yee, Loura